`Where do I Belong?’, Caroline Watson, Leek, Staffordshire, England, 9 February 2008

`I was born in Hong Kong. My parents are British, so I am technically from England although I have lived most of my life in Asia and I now live in China. I always feel very liberated by the fact that I have no one particular place that is called home. I guess my emotional feeling of home, of deep familiarity and association with a place would relate to Hong Kong. But I’m aware that I will never quite be accepted as belonging to Hong Kong, which is something I struggle with. People want to label you and say you’re from England, but that never sits quite right with who I am. To be honest, it is a liberation.’

Leave a Reply

