London Stone and Margareta Kern’s Suitcase Contents, Cannon Street, 22 April 2008

`If this is the founding stone of London and my identity is so wrapped up with being a Londoner, how do I position myself, my stories, and my journey in relation to it?’

`There is a myth that states that London Stone’s safety is linked to that of the city itself: “So long as the stone of Brutus is safe, so long shall London flourish”.’

`While thinking about the multiple identities I have come to adopt, I was curious to learn about the London Stone. All historical stories are imbued with an aura of myth; so is this one. But, the power of what it can represent remains. The idea of a mark that represets the core of London, a point from which all distances in Britain might be measured, was attractive. I wanted to measure the distance from this core to all the stories that have etched themselves into me.’

Leave a Reply

